Buy the Self Adhesive Underlayment on http://www.lumberliquidators.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Self Adhesive Underlayment image
 
(based on 28 ratings)
Brand: Elastilon
Located in: Accessories & Trims, Adhesives, Adhesives
ELASTILON - Self Adhesive Underlayment- 107.64 SFT per Roll- Diameter 8.66" No more glue or nails for your new hardwood floor installation!Elastilon is a permanently elastic, soft underlay for hardwood floors with excellent thermal and acoustic characteristics.It is capable of turning a concrete slab into a hardwood floor in no time at all. From 50% to 70% faster than traditional methods!Quick Highlights:- Can be used for solid and engineered woods.- Above and below grade (including 3/4" solids!)- Continuous tension across the boards eliminates gapping and open seams.- Easy peel off system allows for quick installations.Coverage per roll: 107.64 ft(Calculation based on spreading this product with a 3mm thick layer, in a 328 ft wide x 32.81 ft length surface)Questions about this product?Click here to go to Flooring 101, or call 1-800-HARDWOOD to speak to one of our flooring experts.We will be more than glad to assist you!
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 28 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to install(9), Easy to use(10), Protects wood(4), Reduces noise(8)
Cons:
Pricey / poor value(4)
Best Uses:
Hardwood floors(7)
Describe Yourself:
Avid do-it-yourselfer(5), Casual do-it-yourselfer(4)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast and easy!
By Rob from Florida on 10/17/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Great product, fast and easy to lay. Only con is price, put down 1300 sq feet with 3/4 Tobacco road hardwood flooring and looks fantastic. Easy to use but helps to unroll night before to help with curling during installation. Installation video is perfect, once wood stuck to elastilon it will NOT come back up, just peel back paper like shown in video, fast and easy. AAA+++ product!!

 
Stuck on Elastilon
By room by room amateurVerified Reviewer from Ft Lauderdale, FL on 10/5/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Easy To Use, Reduces "hard floor" feel, Reduces Noise
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

We can't use glues (allergies), so Elastilon was our perfect answer! Measure, cut, put it in place and it's ready for the flooring. No mess, no smell, no wait time! And you get a floating floor effect, s it's easier on the feet.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Underlayment great but confessing
By Slim JimVerified Reviewer from Lawton, Oklahoma on 9/26/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Improves Look, Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Cons:
Difficult To Use, How to pull plastic, It took me several minute
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors, Home
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Hardwood beauty
easy install

Problems
Trim confussing
Elastilon plastic removal

Service & Delivery comments:

Great product, needs better instructions

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product. Easy and fun to use!
By Paul from Sheboygan Wisconsin on 9/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Easy To Use, Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Placed the product over ceramic tile floor in the bathroom. Installed 3/8 cherry flooring over the elastilon. Worked like a charm, and it made the application of the flooring so much easier.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works as advertised
By C.ShoeVerified Reviewer from Wilmington, NC on 8/2/2011
Pros:
Adds little height, Adds spring to the floor, Easy To Install, Easy To Use, Put over concrete slab, Reduces Noise
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

It was used to install solid hardwood floors on an above grade slab, replacing carpet. I like that the product added very little height to the installation as this kept modifying the door jambs to a minimum and leaving the shoe molding in place. Oddly, the product is rolled 'backward', that is, the sticky side is rolled on the inside. It makes unrolling the product with the sticky side to the floor harder than necessary. The product would also benefit from having some way to bond the seams together. I would recommend that you go to the product web site and watch their installation video if you've never used this product before - it was more helpful than the written instructions. Finally, I was disappointed that the product comes in rolls of 107 sqft. This added an unnecessary $200 to my project as I just needed a few extra sq ft to complete the job.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Was Highly Recommended by my Installer
By CamiRoseVerified Reviewer from San Bernardino, CA on 7/21/2011
Pros:
Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Beginner
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

We installed 3/4" hardwood floors (not laminate or engineered), & my installer said that, with this quality of flooring, this underlayment was essential in the endurance & longterm maintence of our new floor. We believed him & installed Elastilon under our floor. We have only had the floor for about 2 weeks, but, so far, so good.

 
Very pleased with this product!
By DianaVerified Reviewer from Magnolia, TX on 7/19/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Easy To Use, Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Cons:
Slick on vapor barrior
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Easy to use, no odor or wait time from glue. Recommend you practice first.

Service & Delivery comments:

Picked product up my self. Found product in good condition.

Images shared by: Diana

Installation with Elastilon

Image Thumbnail

Finished Floor over Elastilon

Image Thumbnail
 
Very nice product to use
By Mike from Lone Jack Missouri on 7/19/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Reduces Noise
Cons:
Price is the only con
Best Uses:
I used this under a bambo
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

This product was very easy to use. While I like to work on many different do it yourself projects this was the first time I layed a floor. The area it layed was in the basement on a cement floor. This product allowed me to place the flooring down without placing a raised flooring product down first. I love the product other then the price

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product, with a few quirks
By TGVerified Reviewer from Detroit, MI on 7/19/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Non workable adhesive
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

I used this product to place 3/4" Bellawood Red Oak strips on top of existing vinyl flooring on our 1st floor slab. This product works as advertised, but please note that the adhesive is exceptionally strong and you have ZERO time to work with a board once it comes in contact with the adhesive. The YouTube videos do not emphasize the importance of first laying about 6-8 boards on the plastic prior to adhering the boards to the Elastilon. It is also a good idea to use masking tape to tape the seams while the boards are on the plastic. After adhering to the Elastilon, it is impossible to remove a board without a crowbar. If you find any gaps after laying the boards, then you are probably out of luck. However, this product will work as intended. Just be careful!!!

 
GREAT PRODUCT
By ANDREWVerified Reviewer from FAYETTEVILLE AR on 7/19/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

BEST PRODUCT FOR INSTALLING HARDWOOD. CUTS TIME IN HALF. MAKES HARDWOOD SOFTER TO WALK ON..

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great product makes laying floor a cinch
By mjVerified Reviewer from Erie, CO on 5/30/2011
Pros:
Easy to lay, No toxic fumes
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Solid hardwood floor
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Easy to lay even with 1 person.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
i need 15 ft of elastilon!! please:)
By dolcerossy from riverside ca on 5/12/2011
Pros:
Saves time
Best Uses:
Concrete floor
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

i loved this product[...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really great rpoduct
By CoyoteVerified Reviewer from Paso Robles, CA on 5/4/2011
Pros:
Great on concrete floors
Cons:
Loosing approx 10"
Best Uses:
Wood or concrete floors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Used on wood floor to concrete floor transition and worked very well! Much easier than conventional nail or glue!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast and simple
By Almost Done from Salinas, Ca on 5/2/2011
Pros:
No messy glue, No wait time, Simple to Install, Sound dampening
Cons:
Cost, Instructions are vague
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

I installed this under a snap-click hardwood floor in our Kitchen/ Dining Room over 70 year old resilient flooring.

Greatest thing about it was that we moved the furniture, appliances and cabinets on it immediately after finishing the wood install. It was also relatively easy to do if one is comparing it with glue. NO MESS! Roll it out, stick it on. I was worried it would sound hollow since we have engineered wood floor, but it is more sound deadening than the other foam type underlayments.

Biggest drawback is the price. It was almost as expensive as the flooring we bought. But, with the ease of use, and move-in-ready nature of it, the cost ended up being worth every penny.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fast and easy, but a couple tips....
By cookiepuss from mechanicsburg, pa on 4/29/2011
Pros:
No Mess, Very easy to work with
Cons:
Top film tears easy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

One thing I found out, and this would be helpful to others, is the top plastic film you peel back sometimes tears easy. When installing, make sure you peel back the film from full edge to edge, sometimes the film will split and you'll have two legs of film as you pull. You just have to pull both legs at same time until the tear is not present.
Also, when unpacking the rolls DO NOT use a razor blade to cut the shrink wrap as you will cut the film and then have a problem on the first couple boards of install.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Recommend self-adhesive underlayer.
By World traveler from Edmond, Oklahoma on 4/28/2011
Pros:
Easy To Install, Keeps floors flexible
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Flexible, Helps with installation
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

My son-in-law, a builder, helped me with installation of flooring. He really likee the use of the sel-adhesive product.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Elastilon Review
By BertVerified Reviewer from Miami, Fl on 4/22/2011
Pros:
Easy to handle, No Smell, Very flexible forgiving
Cons:
Cost - could be less
Best Uses:
Any floating floor instal, Floating hardwood floors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Terrific product, made the job of laying down our new floor a snap. Following the manufactures instructions and after reviewing the VIDs on line several times we tackled our project - a 10' by 11' room with a 2' by 7' closet – approximately 136 sq ft. We ended up using approximately 1 & 2/3 rolls of Elastilon. Make sure you have a very sharp utility knife to cut the material. Toward the end of the installation (wall opposite your starting point wall) it is best to peel (expose) the sticky surface and install one board / plank at a time as you will not have the space required to effectively pull the cover sheathing. The material is forgiving so mistakes can be corrected if caught in time. After working w/ this product I can see how it could be used in other similar applications such as laying a rubber based tile floor in my garage. My wife and I are do-it-your-selfers (certainly NOT experts) and had no problems installing our first hardwood floor using this product. Would recommend this product to the beginner or expert alike. – Good stuff.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow!
By HandymanVerified Reviewer from Ely, MN on 4/20/2011
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

To put hardwood flooring down.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product. I'll never glue again!
By JMC from Tallahasse, FL on 12/30/2010
Pros:
Easy to use, Excellent Adhesive, Great DIY project, No mess as with glue, Quick installation
Cons:
First rows require care
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

Used over concrete subfloor when installing solid wood flooring. Had previously glued down the flooring in other rooms. I'll never value down again! Elastilon installation took one-fourth the time with no mess and no tedious clean up. I highly recommend this product. It's great for do it yourself flooring projects.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Expensive but worth every penny
By Frugal Yet SatisfiedVerified Purchaser from North Carolina on 8/21/2010
Pros:
Almost idiot proof, Easy to transport, Easy to use, No Spills, Nothing to spill, Provides great cushioning
Cons:
A bit pricey, Only comes in big rolls
Best Uses:
Hardwood Adhesive Pad
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

This really is a great product and is totally worth the price. It made installing our hardwood super-easy. We did it ourselves.

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
SOOO Glad i went with Elastilon
By I Heart BambooVerified Reviewer from Columbus, OH on 8/16/2010
Pros:
Easy To Install, Provides cushion, Reduces noise, Temperature barrier
Best Uses:
Concrete subfloor
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

I researched long and hard deciding how I wanted to lay my bamboo down on my concrete above grade floor. I finally went with this for several reasons: 1) it provided cushion 2) it was comparable in price of glue + plastic seal 3) no messy glue 4) one piece does all 5) the distributor in Canada was super helpful in answering my questions. 6)the floor wouldn't be as cold in winter due to the barrier from the concrete.

It was the first time my contractor had used it. Since I helped him install, I can tell you what he said. First, make sure that you push all the pieces together so there are no gaps before you pull off/out the silicone sheet uncovering the sticky side. We (mainly I) wasn't as careful as I shoudl have been in the first few rows and we have some gaps. We could not move the pieces, so I will have to fill them. But once we figured that out, we did better. My contractor ended up using some type of clamp/pulley system that he said he used to use with linoleum years ago and that made our job easier as it put pressure to keep the lengthwise seams tight. We just had to worry about the short seams. We could have done it ourselves, but since we had the tools, why not use them? It took us a little while to get to use to how much of the paper to peel off for each row. The videos are helpful, but there will be a little learning curve. In the end, my contractor said he really liked it and would recommmend it to future clients.

PS. I have a fairly large step (approx 7' x 2') leading down to the room and we did not use the underlayment on that for various reasons. It is noticeably harder and stiffer than the floor with the Elastilon, since it was glued directly to particle board. I was not aware until i made the comparison of the floor v. step how much give the Elastilon has.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works well, but be careful
By Lionel Messi from Mountain View, CA on 7/30/2010
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

I used Elastilon Strong on a concrete slab. It worked well and I'm very happy with it. It's very helpful that you can walk on boards immediately after you install them.

A word of caution: The adhesive is very strong. If even a small part of a board gets good contact with the adhesive, it can be very difficult to remove. Be careful not to expose much adhesive when pulling the flap back so that the next row of board doesn't adhere before you want it to.

When cutting and fitting pieces of Elastilon, ALWAYS remember to leave enough cover flap so that you can lay at least one board on the flap and have a little extra when you fold the flap back.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Expensive but worth it
By First timerVerified Purchaser from Greensboro, NC on 6/19/2010
Pros:
idiot proof, Quick efficient, Really hard to screw up
Cons:
Definitely not cheap, Mistakes can't be fixed
Best Uses:
Hardwood
Bottom Line:

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

We have never worked with hardwood before, and this was a great start. Will definitely use again.

[12 of 12 customers found this review helpful]

 
This underlayment is GREAT!!
By PiemanVerified Purchaser from Avon, Indiana on 5/23/2010
Pros:
durability, Ease, Ease of Use, Installation time
Cons:
Starting the first rows
Best Uses:
Carbonized bamboo, Slabconcrete foundation
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

The elastilon is easy to use. Cutting it to get the first three/four rows going is a challenge because you do not want to cut the plastic covering. Once you get the hang of it, installation is unbelievably easy. This stuff is super sticky and once adhered, does not come off. We used this over a concrete slab with carbonized bamboo. Everyone has commented on how wonderful our floor looks. It is also a little quieter do to the denseness of the elastilon strong padding. I would HIGHLY recommend this product! Yes, the cost may seem a little high at [$], but by the time you buy concrete sealer, floor adhesive, tools, cleaners, etc. the cost is actually cheaper!

Images shared by: Pieman

Moringstar Carbonized Bamboo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Over Elastilon, Using Product, Made with Product

Moriningstar Carbonized Bamboo over Elastilon

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
I am the first review!
By Brooklyn BridgeVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 4/26/2010
Pros:
Feels like cushion, Has a bounce, Not messy, Still adjusting
Cons:
Don't have any as of yet
Best Uses:
On the floor of course
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

On the floor over concrete, tile and linoleum!

Seems like it laid down easy. no smell, noise with nails. Gives the floor a bounce.

Can't say what's not great yet.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By FrankVerified Reviewer from Boca Raton, FL on 3/18/2010
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

A do-it-yoursefer. Had installed wood floors in 4 bedrooms and hallway (3/4" Virgina Mills Golden Teak). All of these were nail down applications since they were on the second floor. Now it was time to do my office on 1st floor, so first attempt to install on concrete. Thought about laying down 3/4" plywood (but that raised the floor too much), thought about glue down (But I though it would be too messy). Decided to try ELASTILON. First row or too was a little tricky, but once I got the hang of how to use, floor went down quickly and securely. The key is to ensure no sticky part of the product in expose to the piece of wood your putting in place. Get it good and tight and than pull out the protective layer. From that point that board is not going to move.

Would highly recommend. But suggest you practice on a small area first.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
The product of the future!!
By Refurb RebaVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Florida on 2/25/2010
Pros:
Can live and work around, Clean Install, Easy on knees, Furniture can stay, No Smell, Quiet barrieradhesive
Cons:
A bit expensive
Best Uses:
Anywhere you want quiet, Convenience tops
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

This is perfect for install over concrete in condos. No need to move out and no odor,-- none!! My installers were hooked. Goes down fast, clean and quiet. No clean up and can be walked on instantly. Will never use another product.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
So easy
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Media, PA on 12/8/2009
Pros:
Easy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Elastilon Self Adhesive Underlayment:

I just used elastilon to lay down my first hardwood floor. It was so easy to use. The floor came out better than I expected. Check out the installation videos on their website.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Lumber Liquidators All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.