Buy the 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate on http://www.lumberliquidators.com Print This PagePrint This Page
12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate image
 
(based on 26 ratings)
Brand: Dream Home - Kensington Manor
Located in: Laminate, Floating, 12mm
Handscraped appearance and texture... Just like Hardwood flooring!Kensington Manor by Dream Home - 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate Flooring - 30 Year WarrantyKensington Manor is a premium 12mm + 3mm pre-glued underlaymentlaminate product line. What is unique is that most of the line has a handscraped finish appearance. This is not simply in the look, but also in the actual texture!The combination of these 2 characteristics gives them a beautiful rustic feel! Also, the V-groove and pre-glued 3mm underlayment will make your installation process quick and easy. Quick Installation Tips:- Store flooring flat for 48 hours in its original packaging at room temperature. - Must be installed over a clean, stable, flat, smooth, and dry surface.- Moisture barrier is recommended for installations over concrete.- Make sure the panels are mixed sufficiently when you install them so that you do not end up with too many identical, light or dark panels next to each other.ADDITIONAL FOAM PADDING:Lumber Liquidators does not recommend using additional foam padding under laminates with pre-attached foam padding. This is because too much foam under the laminate can promote a weakening of the clic joints causing board separation. Pre-attached foam has been satisfactorily tested in sound isolation quality with has an FIIC (Field Impact Insulation Class) of 51. Problems arising from the use of additional foam padding for whatever reason fall outside our warrantable recommendations.IF YOU CHOOSE TO USE ADDITIONAL PADDING:For excellent sound reduction qualities, Lumber Liquidators recommends the use of Cork underlayment for Laminates with pre-attached foam backing. Cork underlayment products are denser materials that best support the joints while ensuring superior sound reduction qualities.Kensington Manor Flooring Advantages:- Three different plank lengths per box- No glue and no nails needed- Easy Click Installation- Moisture resistant board- Thickness: 12mm + 3mm (1/8") pre-glued underlayment - AC Rating: 3 - 30 Year WarrantyA birthday cake without frosting?That's a floor without matching trim and molding.Click here to find our extensive selection of natural & stained Trims and Moldings so that you can match wood species to your new floor.(Who else can do that?)
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 26 reviews)
85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Beautiful color(3), Durable(3), Easy to clean(4), Easy to install(4)
 
Good Flooring
By B-RadVerified Reviewer from East Bend, NC on 10/12/2011
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean
Best Uses:
Office
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Installed this floor in my office and it turned out great! It is pretty scratch resistant, cleans up easy (but needed often) and contrast well with lighter colored walls.

 
Nightmare
By A Disappointed CustomerVerified Reviewer from Raleigh, NC on 8/9/2011
Pros:
Beautiful Color
Cons:
Finish Wears Easily, Scratches Easily
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

This flooring has been a nightmare. It's extremely labor intensive to maintain, scratches with ease and I had to throw away at least two to three pieces per box because of scratching. The whole reason for purchasing this type of flooring is because I wanted something that did not scratch very easy and I liked the dark look.
I would highly recommended that if you to are looking for something that does not scratch easily or shows scratching you go with a lighter color or with Prefinished hardwoods.

 
Need more for the rest of the house.
By Extra A from Houston, TX on 7/27/2011
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

The floor looks great. We recently bought a house and new the green carpet would have to go. We put this flooring in our office first so we could get it set up and will definitely use it throughout the rest of the house.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful, but.....
By Khodasc from West Hartford, CT on 4/27/2011
Cons:
Scratches Easy, Shows every speck of dust
Best Uses:
any room
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

This is a beautiful floor, BUT it is super high maintenance. Shows every speck of dust and scratches easily and I don't wear shoes on it or have pets. Constantly vaccuming it, which is a little annoying, but it looks good. Another issue..and this may be an installation issue?... after a week of being installed some of the seems separated a little on the short sides.

I would recommend this with caution.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tanzanian Laminate Floors
By Nina from Houston, Texas on 4/27/2011
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

I bought the floor for my condo. I used installers through LL and they were great. [...]The flooring looks beautiful in my home. Gave it an updated rich look. Very sturdy and good product to have with a pet.

 
Beautiful floors
By MelVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 4/21/2011
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Love, love, love my floors. We put them throughout our 1 bedroom condo (except the bathroom). They are so beautiful and look super expensive. We have received so many compliments. I highly recommend them to anyone. Great quality!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Elegant floor
By planogalVerified Reviewer from Dallas, TX on 4/21/2011
Pros:
Good Quality
Cons:
Shows all the dirt
Best Uses:
Living Dining Bedroom
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Quite an impactful beautiful look. Like all dark floors it shows all the lint, dirt, shoe marks. If you don't like to mop everyday choose a medium-light color flooring. I love the look, the high quality, and beauty of this floor. I'm also a mopper.

Images shared by: planogal

Living/Dining Room

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product, Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful
By MarieVerified Reviewer from Aurora, IL on 12/31/2010
Pros:
Deep beautiful color, Easy To Install, Feel like walking on wood, very durable
Cons:
Shows dust and dirt easy
Best Uses:
Dining room, Half bath, Kitchen, Living Room
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Very happy! Works very well with our modern decor, although it is so classy I think it could fit any decor. Very durable and my husband and father installed 750 square feet of it in 3 days. We put a moisture barrier down first, but the laminate comes with padding already on. The floor is very slippery compared to our old laminate. You have to be careful at first until you get used to it. We choose this over wood, because we have small children and will not be at our place for longer than another 5-6 years.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
By CassieVerified Reviewer from Indianapolis IN on 12/20/2010
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

After years of waiting and research done we decided on these floors. We put it in the family room, kitchen and hallways...We couldn't be happier!! They look amazing!! We had friends help us install them and the only problems were around the door jams but that was not a problem with the floors, but with the construction of the house. I stare at the floors constantly, relieved to see beauty verses dirty carpet. Our two year old son loves them too!! The price could not be beat [...]I knew going into this purchase that I would have to clean the floors every couple of days because of their dark shade, but a quick two minute swiffer and I'm done.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
wow
By mario from dunnellon florida on 9/25/2010
Pros:
Durable, Looks great
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

makes the whole house look great
does require maintenance
but that is what gets inside the rug and sits there
2 big dogs and no issues
install was easy

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great looking floor
By JonVerified Purchaser from Milwaukee, WI on 8/10/2010
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Great quality product that looks great and was very simple to install.

 
GREAT!
By Liz BrooklynVerified Reviewer from Brooklyn Ny on 8/1/2010
Pros:
BEAUTIFUL, Easy to clean
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

We have this in our kitchen and it looks so good. Its easy to clean. Then plan is to satin the rest of the apartment to match this color. Everyone who sees it compliments it. Very contemporary and also feels good on the feet.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buyer's Remorse
By Mama of 2Verified Reviewer from Fresno, CA on 7/27/2010
Cons:
Never looks clean
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

We had this installed in our living, dining, kitchen and stairs. [...] However, I do not think this floor looks as "real" as other hand scraped laminates that I was considering. This color and gloss shows every smudge, crumb, speck of dust, etc. Very disappointing. Also, I didn't realize until after I ordered it that the planks come in 3 sizes. Because of this I didn't achieve the overall look I was going for.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate
By KerriVerified Purchaser from Vicksburg, MI on 6/17/2010
Pros:
Doesn't scratch
Cons:
You can see all the dirt
Best Uses:
High traffic areas
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

I really like this product because we have a dog and she has long nails and it doesn't scratch but it is the exact color we wanted. We had real wood before and it was aweful and scratched so bad that we had to keep her off of it and this we aren't worried a bit about. This is great.

[23 of 23 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By DanVerified Reviewer from Houston area on 6/2/2010
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

I put this in a rental due to the durability. I wanted the look of hardwood without the scratches. I have dropped a hammer and numerous tools on this stuff and it didnt scratch. The preattached padding saves money. This is an easy DIY for homeowners.

Images shared by: Dan

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love It!
By SuzsunshineVerified Purchaser from Pataskala, OH on 5/24/2010
Pros:
Great Color, Overall super look, Pretty easy to install
Cons:
Ran one box short
Best Uses:
Teen bedroom
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Used this flooring in small teen bedromm 10 X 12. Looks great, installation took about 8 hours. First time installer

 
12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate
By amyVerified Purchaser from watertown on 5/19/2010
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

i put the flooring down in bedroom ,and know i am going to put it down in my living room its very rich looking flooring .it not hard to put down put should be put down with two people have shown it to others and others are looking into it also .it is a dark floor so it needs to be cleaned all the time thats the only thing that i could say that it didnt like

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic looking DIY laminate
By Roger - The EngineerVerified Purchaser from Rochester Hills, MI on 5/18/2010
Pros:
Cost, Hard material, Pre-attached padding, Uniformity
Cons:
Hard to cut by hand
Best Uses:
Closets, Small rooms
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Hi there.

I purchased this laminate for a walk-in closet as an experiment for my attempt of doing the job myself and study the possibility of tackling a larger area.. So far, I have randomized the boards, inspected each one, and am working in the process of getting the sub-floor flat. The boards were easy to unclick when removing from the packaging and all came flat with no damages to the grooves and tongues. If you want to plan the layout and minimize board/cutting waste, it is worth mentioning that it comes in three different board lengths per case, six pieces of each size: 47.5, 26.9 and 20.6 inches. For this lot, only one board had a little noticeable scratch probably because the outer wrapping was ripped and something might have gotten in between cases during transportation. The solution was easy: a stroke of black permanent marker over it and a dry paper tissue to rub off the excess line and it was not visitable anymore. I believe that wherever the boards are clicked together and the laminate edges possibly show that distinct look of a whitish fuss at the joints, issue that most laminates have, I will strike the permanent marker. This is my only concern with this laminate (besides not having matching finish trims) because the finish is dark (and beautiful), any variances on the profile, flushness of subfloor, or on the edges of the imprinted finish will show the base material, which is light in color. However, my guess is that one will not notice this when walking over the floor, but only when closely examining it with appropriate lighting, which will not be an issue in the walk-in closet.

For those with a good nose, even though this laminate is labeled to comply with some regulation for formaldehyde in California, it does bring a smell when you open the cases, so, I do recommend letting the boards air it off first during the time the laminate has to acclimate in your home. In my case, I removed the outer wrapping of the cases in my dry basement, left the cases there over the week before starting to work on it and that period was more than enough to eliminate the rubber-padding odor attached to the laminate. I am leaving the boards/planks resting flat over cardboard in the hallway until the closet is ready to receive it. The reason for the cardboard is that the pre-attached black rubber padding, which is great, can mark the white carpet upstairs. Another thing to anticipate: have some painkiller for your back if you are carrying it up and down stairs, each case weights about 50 pounds and during installation, you will be kneeling on the floor.

I am unable to comment on the ease of installation until I have done it, but as far as the presentation of the laminate goes, its thickness and uniformity of the boards, pre-attached padding without crumbling rubber, its dark wenge wood-like grain/veins, easy to fix a nick, and the fact that it is designed for a floating DIY install make it a great buy . Good luck with your projects.

UPDATE: I finished the installation. The clicking-together and spreading of the boards went smooth lengthwise. For this small project, I did not use powertools (which has to be done outside your home to avoid all the dust and noise that would wake up the little ones, and decided to cut boards by hand in the garage. Ouch ! Be patient! That was tough, particularly on the perimeter of the closet cutting boards lengthwise. I wasted a brand-new Kobalt blade hand saw about three quarters of the project and had to go for a fine-tooth flexible pull-saw, which is trickier for a straight cut, but went much faster than typical hand saws with coarse indentation cutting across. Well, this means the laminate material is very hard, therefore very good. For reference, the total length of cuts was 26.5 feet, inch by inch, by hand (do not laugh). The board that took the longest to prep was the one that encompassed the air vent. The width of the laminate is ideal to cover it and so I designed the layout so that one of the small boards would cover the vent, and after cutting the opening, the drop-in metal grill would fit snuggle. Recommendations from my perspectives: 1) duct-tape the bottom of the drywall over the floor stud after you remove the baseboards, so any future white dust will not fall on the dark floor, 2) epoxy-glue and tape any subfloor joints to avoid any future movement/settling, 3) latex-caulk the subfloor perimeter joints wall-to-wall to create air tight space (which any installer should do in order to avoid the house air-suction dust lines around the room, specially observed with carpet).

Nice product. I will happily extend it to other rooms, but this time I will not cut it by hand. It was a workout.

Roger.

Service & Delivery comments:

Not applicable to my case, but the staff members at the LL store were great in answering all my questions and helping me load the cases.

 
LOVE FLOOR!
By MMC from Cleveland, OH on 4/25/2010
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

We put this floor in 70% of our house and it looks amazing. The color is pretty dead on to the pic on the site and it makes our house flow nicely. The only downfall is it gets dirty VERY quickly and shows dirt instantly. So you will be cleaning it all the time. But it is worth it for the look and feel of the floor!

 
Great Laminate
By ChuckVerified Purchaser from Chula Vista, CA on 4/24/2010
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Looks great after installation and was very affordable.

 
Great flooring Product
By JCVerified Purchaser from Brooklyn, NY on 4/3/2010
Pros:
Easy to clean, Easy To Install, Looks great, Price was right
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Versatile flooring
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

I used this flooring for a small room that I will use as an office space.

Service & Delivery comments:

Customer Service was excellent. Delivery time was accurate. I liked the e-mail pick up notice.

 
great look!
By DJ RPZVerified Purchaser from Anaheim on 3/8/2010
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

great price for a rich look

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beauty and Quality
By SnowhiteVerified Reviewer from Patterson, Ca on 3/2/2010
Pros:
Durable, Looks like hardwood, Quality
Best Uses:
Bedrooms, Dining room, entry, Family Room, Hallways, Living Room
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

The handscraped appearance, texture and color are amazing. My floors look like it came out of a model home. We installed the floors ourselves. The first few took a little bit of time to get right but after that we hit the ground running and it looks just amazing. We installed approximately 800 sqf in our entry, hallway and formal living and dining room area. We have 3 boys ranging from 2, 7 and 12 and this floor i can vow is tough as nails. [...] We searched around and know we got the best product for our money.

Images shared by: Snowhite

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail
 
BEAUTIFUL!!!!
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Minnesota on 2/1/2010
Pros:
Great price, Impressive, Looks great Cleans well
Cons:
Need 2 people to install
Best Uses:
Used in bathroom, Will add to whole house
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

Used it in a bathroom, which was not suggested by some, but it is what I wanted and would do it again!!! There have been no problems with water which was a concern.
We will be putting this in the entire top two levels of our house and I can't wait!

[5 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tanzanian Wenge looks great
By samVerified Purchaser from south salem, ny on 10/4/2009
Pros:
Excellent price, Great looking product ex
Cons:
Installation tricky
Bottom Line:

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

great for walk-in closet

[51 of 52 customers found this review helpful]

 
Freaking Amazing!!!
By Bizzy BVerified Reviewer from LAS VEGAS, CA on 5/20/2009
Pros:
Easy To Install
Cons:
Nothing
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Dream Home - Kensington Manor 12mm Tanzanian Wenge Laminate:

My Fiancee and I just bought our dream home. In our previous home we used a light shade of laminate flooring that was cheap and didnt get good reviews, each plank of wood had the look of 3 pieces which made it look really fake and did not come with a good padding so i would here my fiancee walking around upstairs in our home! In our new home we wanted to go with laminate floor for durability and cause we have dogs. We have very modern furniture and didnt want the lighter shades or natural looking wood... it was to "OLD" and "Country" feeling, its our home not our parents! We looked everywhere for this color but it was either black or a semi-dark shade of brown but just not quite what we were looking for. We decided to settle after 2 months of searching and not wanting to walk on bare concrete floors any more we decided to go with the DREAM HOME St. James bond street teak...it was a good price, with padding and the darkest of laminates we could find for under $3sqft...So for the 5th time returning to LL we were disappointed to be there to purchase a floor we were not crazy about but along the wall they had a "JUST IN" Dream HOME tanzanian wenge....WOW this wood,color, texture was exactly what we were looking for the entire 2months we spent searching! It is in single plank form so it looks more realistic, it has beveled edges to make it look that much more real, it is hand scraped which i wasnt crazy about to begin with but now that its in my home i couldnt have thought in a million years it would look that good and the mocha color fits our furniture and were only 24 so all our friends havent seen anyone else with this color they all want to do it in their future homes! I installed 1500 sqft at our old home with cheap [...] laminate flooring,[...] and it was so hard just to snap into place, This particular laminate...since i cant speak for anything else lumber liquidators has was so simple to do i did 2300 sqft with only 1 1/2 boxes of scrapped wood and not 1 box was damaged, it clicked together and slid into place like butter...absolutely amazing!!! This is the first review ive ever done on any product ive ever done/owned in my life so thats gotta say somthing!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Lumber Liquidators All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.