Buy the Bostik Moisture Barrier on www.lumberliquidators.com Print page iconPrint This Page
Bostik Moisture Barrier image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Bostik
Located in: Accessories & Trim, Adhesives, MVP
MVP - Bostik Moisture Barrier 5 Gallon Bostik Moisture Barrier is a one-part, trowel-applied product formulated to reduce the rate of moisture vapor transmission. It can be used on both engineered and solid hardwood floors in conjunction with Bostik wood flooring adhesives. For more product specs, click here.Adobe Reader can be downloaded here.*Shipping is by FEDEXFreight only and may be subject to additional shipping costs.The product isbest when applied with 1 new trowel per can (accessories tab below has recommended trowel - #9 V-Notch Trowel). Number of cans recommended is based on manufacturerinstallationapplication guidelinesand square footage per can is not guaranteed.* California and Nevada residents: Orders will be fulfilled using Mapei products.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Reduces noise (8), Protects wood (7), Easy to install (5)
Best Uses:
Hardwood floors (9)
Describe Yourself:
Professional (5), Avid do-it-yourselfer (3)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Serious stuff
By ElvisVerified Reviewer from Cleveland on 5/12/2009
Pros:
Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Cons:
Coverage, Expensive, Strong odor
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used this product when installing brazilian cherry hardwood in a glue down fashion over concrete slab. cure time is longer than advertised - expect 48 hrs for tackiness to subside. Much better than other products that are thin and easy to apply incorrectly. Other moisture barriers are rolled on vs. troweled with this product. Thick, almost epoxy like, paid [$]or so for a 5 gallon bucket. order small as there is a restocking fee for returns. so far so good. bit stinky for 2 days.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Moisture Does not Stand a Chance
By Sweat Equity BuilderVerified Reviewer from Covington, Louisiana on 3/27/2009
Pros:
Protects Wood
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This stuff is outrageous, if applied correcly, it becomes sort of a rubberized membrane, almost unbelievable concrete to floor adhesion, dries to a rubberized layer that moisture just can not penetrate. I am totally confident that in the future, moisture will not be an issue underneath my Bellawood Brazillian Walnut flooring.

Images shared by: Sweat Equity Builder

Finished Project

Image Thumbnail
 
Works but smells terrible
By CrisVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 3/14/2009
Pros:
Easy To Install, Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Best Uses:
Bamboo/Cork, Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This is a very good product that smells very bad. I would not install flooring over concrete without it. It is well worth the cost, and smell, for the added protection it will give. Once the flooring is installed the smell is gone.

 
Moisture? What Moisture?
By Rob the Floor GuyVerified Reviewer from Spring Lake, MI on 12/8/2008
Pros:
Easy To Install, Vapor barrier
Cons:
Can be messy
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I feel that this product is awesome. No complaints from me.

 
Pricey, but worth it
By Be your own GCVerified Reviewer from Scandia, MN on 12/8/2008
Pros:
Easy To Install, Reduces Noise
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great stuff. Worth the money. Easy to trowel on, and my floors are quiet and have a nice cushion feel under-foot. Tip : Buy some of the Bostik remover solvent.

 
very good product, would use again. A+
By Rob the builderVerified Reviewer from Sapulpa, Oklahoma on 12/1/2008
Pros:
Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

worked well on preventing moisture from seeping thru the concrete floor.

[10 of 10 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Product - Fantastic Results
By 88 Thumbs JPVerified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 11/24/2008
Pros:
Excellent Mosture Barrier, Reduces Noise
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Although I am a casual Do-It-Yourselfer, as with many of us I'm an avid money saver.

Used this product to support a hardwood over concrete installation. After reading many manuals and visiting many internet sites which said leave wood over concrete to the pros, I went to Lumber Liquidators. The Lumber Liquidator staff gave good advice and convinced me with a little planning and choosing the right tools, equipment and materials I could be successful doing the installation myself.

The recommended materials to support my installation of wood over concrete was Bostick's MVP and Bostick's Best Adhesive. Both of these products are excellent.

Two things to remember are 1)prior planning and 2) sealer and adhesive management. This appears to be where many go awry. Keep mineral spirits around and inspect often. Cut and fit the boards before actual installation too, many sites show cut as you go, but I've found that cutting and dry fitting the floor first saves time and simplifies the actual installation. Also, do the moisture test. Although my moisture test indicated I did not need to use the MVP, use it anyway!!! Over the longer run you will be happy, money well spent. I used the whole 16 hour cure time for the MVP. Once complete my wife and kids commented on how quiet and solid the installation was, my neighbors commented on the professional results.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a great product
By The GadzVerified Reviewer from Shamong, NJ on 9/6/2008
Pros:
Easy To Install, Protects Wood, Reduces Noise, Warmer floor
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors, Home
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great product to install over concrete slab floors. Blocks the moisture completely . Makes the engineered wood flooring warmer to walk on. Levels imperfections on the concrete floor nicely. Very impressed with product and have recomended it to others.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
works great
By smitVerified Reviewer from lakeside, CA. on 3/19/2008
Pros:
Easy To Install, Protects Wood, Reduces Noise
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors, Home, Laminate Floors, Office
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

simple to lay, helps to reduce noise of floor.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
BOSTIK MOISTURE BARRIER
By Rhonda SpittleVerified Reviewer from Jacksonville, Fl on 3/5/2008
Best Uses:
Hardwood Floors
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

EASY TO PUT DOWN

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
messy
By ChrispyVerified Reviewer from Sunrise, Florida on 2/12/2008
Pros:
Protects Wood, Reduces Noise, Seals floor well, Seems to do the trick
Cons:
Difficult To Use
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Seems to do as it says. Does provide good sound deadening. Provides good seal over concrete subfloor. Fills small cracks well.
Downside - very sticky, dries too quickly. Hard to work with and next to impossible to remove.

Customer Reviews about the Bostik Moisture Barrier at Lumber Liquidators
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 Lumber Liquidators All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.