Buy the 3/4" x4-3/4" Matterhorn Birch Handscraped Flooring on www.lumberliquidators.com Print page iconPrint This Page
3/4
 
(based on 34 ratings)
Brand: Virginia Mill Works
Located in: Solid Hardwoods, Handscraped, Handscraped Flooring
3/4" x 4-3/4" Virginia Mill Works Matterhorn Birch Handscraped Flooring Colonial American homes were built with wooden floors that were sawn using basic hand-held tools. The hand-crafted workmanship that went into these floors can be found in Virginia Mill Works hand scraped floors.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
(based on 34 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive finish (34), Easy to install (31), Easy to clean (23), Beautiful color (17), Durable (15)
Best Uses:
Bedroom (19), Family room (19), Living room (17), Dining room (14), Office (9)
Describe Yourself:
Casual do-it-yourselfer (9), Do-it-yourself (7), Avid do-it-yourselfer (6), Novice user (5)
 
Love it!
By Meghan BoulderVerified Reviewer from Boulder CO on 5/25/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable
Cons:
Scratches Easily
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used MAtterhorn Birch in our entire house and it looks gorgeous. It scratches easily but the look of it is pretty rugged so the scratches aren't the end of the world. We just love it! Watch for gaps when installing...make sure each board is tight in to the board next to it.

 
Gorgeous floor!!!
By wolfe4Verified Purchaser from Statesville, NC on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room

We bought 600 square foot of this floor to put down in our living room, foyer and hallway. We hired an installer from a local hardwood company to come lay the floor on the side. He had no trouble with the flooring, there were very few mis-milled pieces out of over 26 boxes. He was very impressed with the wood and quality. The floor is absolutely gorgeous and feels amazing under your feet. I have two dogs and no dents, scratches or other issues. With it being handscraped, if any occur then it will just add character to this wood. Also, the light color hides dirt and dust bunnies much better than a darker floor. I could not be happier!!

Images shared by: wolfe4

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail
 
Great product[...]
By SusanVerified Reviewer from Crawford, CO on 5/11/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room, Office
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Our flooring was packaged very well and we only found 1 board out of 1300 sq ft of flooring that was damaged. Boards were nicely milled and fit very well.

Service & Delivery comments:

Customer service by phone or in person at the CO. Springs store was excellent. We traveled 6 hours to buy from them and they followed through on every detail and were so helpful on the selection and delivery. We are recommending them to our friends.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flooring, [...]
By PatVerified Reviewer from Derry, NH on 4/22/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Family Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The flooring is gorgeous with practically no bad boards. The stapler made it easy. Family and friends are impressed and were surprised to learn we had installed it ourselves. The handscraping adds interest and makes it look richer and lusher. We can't comment on durability since we just installed it.

Service & Delivery comments:

Service was quite good for the most part. The flooring arrived at the warehouse sooner than expected. There were no problems loading it onto our vehicle, and the product itself was flawless. The PROBLEM WAS the LL professional ESTIMATE on the flooring needed to cover the 260 sq. ft. We were mostly finished installing Sunday night and discovered we did not have enough boards to complete the job. A review of the paperwork revealed their estimate to cover a 260 sq. ft. floor was 260 sq. ft.of flooring, NOT ALLOWING FOR ANY WASTE AT ALL. I left 2 ph msgs describing the shortage and the inconvenience Sunday night. The next a.m. we received a return msg telling us that more flooring was available at the warehouse, but NO APOLOGY. Neither did anyone apologize for the estimating error when my husband came back for the extra flooring. My complaint is not so much that they made a mistake (professionals are human, too), but that LL staff made no acknowledgment of it nor offer any amends, such as a discount on the additional flooring purchased. VERY UNCLASSY.

In the future, I would recommend the product to others, but tell them not to trust the estimate given by the professional staff.

 
Beautiful product!!!
By Daddy Jack (Recent Twins Dad)Verified Reviewer from Menlo Park, CA on 4/17/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

As always measure twice and cut once!

Service & Delivery comments:

The Burlingame, California store is the best! Helpful and customer service at it's upmost!

 
Matterhorn Handscraped Flooring
By MoggeVerified Reviewer from Springfield, Tennessee on 4/14/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Family Room, Office
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

What I can say about Lumber Liqudators is that they truly stand behind their products. The crew in La Vergne, TN were outstanding. [...] Congratulations to a great company. The flooring looks and feels great. I will send some pictures when I get the room ready for use.Thanks again,Morgan HellgrenSpringfield, Tennessee

 
Love this product
By SueVerified Reviewer from Wolfeboro,N.H. Lake Winnipesaukee on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bathroom
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The sales people were very helpful and the order came in very quickly. The wood is beautiful quality and easy to install. We love it.

 
A world of difference
By The boaterVerified Reviewer from Deerfield, OH on 4/3/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Novice
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The wood floor was installed by a professional. The result was excellent. The installer wants to put the same product in his house.

Images shared by: The boater

After

Image Thumbnail

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
FANTASTIC product!
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Denver, Colorado on 4/1/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Easy To Install, Fantastic graining
Best Uses:
Living Room, Shed style ceiling
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I bought this product to use on the ceiling of our Great Room and it was a fantastic idea! My ceiling has gone from very drab and un-noticable to being the room's show piece! It's really helped us give our home the "ski lodge" style we were looking for! It looks even better than I had hoped and was easy to install. Two of us installed 800 sq ft (some as high as 19ft.) in just three days! Hardly any waste and only a few pieces that had any sort of defect. The grains and colors in the wood make it blend with anything (my other trimwork is pine)and the handscraped look make it great for a ceiling! I can hardly wait to get the teak version of the same product installed on my floors! Overall a complete success -[...]

Images shared by: Mike

Great Room ceiling - AFTER!

Image Thumbnail
 
This floor is nice to look at & walk on
By M & JVerified Reviewer from Columbus, OH on 3/29/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We had our contractor install this in our great room and dining room. I don't know about the ease or difficulty of installation, but it looks great. We also haven't had it down long enough to tell whether it will wear well or not. I can tell you it feels great on bare feet.

 
Great floor covering.
By JackVerified Reviewer from West Point, VA on 3/19/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Family Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Avid Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Used this floor in a great room/ kitchen addition. Looks great and for a wood floor it is nice on bare feet.

 
Awesome Floor!!
By Mikey from Rhode Island on 3/17/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Great Product, I have installed Many hardwood floors, but this is the best bang for the buck!

 
Birch flooring is great!
By Jean, the affordable housing ladyVerified Reviewer from Carson City, NV on 3/11/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Family Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Beautiful flooring. Wide planks and color make rooms appear larger and hallway wider. Great choice!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this product
By mkingerVerified Reviewer from woodbine, nj on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room, Office
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product was easy to install. The finish and character of the product make my family room look like a new room. We have two dogs and if they scratched it, I don't see them.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful, but not as durable as hoped
By GAKVerified Reviewer from boston, ma on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Cons:
Easily dented, Finish Wears Easily
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

It is gorgeous flooring, It is in our kitchen and dining room.

Don't use if you have dogs because their nails would destroy it. Anything mildly heavy dropped on it will dent it. Scratches relatively easily.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value, beautiful floor
By Done with projectsVerified Reviewer from Solon, OH on 12/19/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Family Room, Kitchen
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This flooring is absolutely beautiful if you like the contrasting color of grain. I love the variated look of natural hickory but could not afford it. This Matterhorn Birch is a nice, affordable alternative to achieve the same look. Be sure to put pads on the bottoms of your chairs to avoid scratches.

Images shared by: Done with projects

Love the handscraped

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Transitioned to tile in the laundry room

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Picture of Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful wood
By New home builderVerified Reviewer from New Hampshire on 12/18/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room, Office
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This product is beautiful in our new home. We had never installed flooring before, and this was an extremely easy project. We ordered 7% waste, but had so much left over, we are able to order one more box and finish a room we hadn't planned on!
My only complaint about this wood is that it does scratch easily--we have 2 labs and their nails have already taken their toll on the wood, so I would not recommend this for all you animal lovers!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By BrookeVerified Reviewer from Vermont on 12/15/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Office
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We have professionals installing our floors and they are very pleased with the product. I love the varying grains and the feel of the floor under my feet. It is beautiful.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This floor is awesome!!
By Sandra CVerified Reviewer from Brunswick, Maine on 11/15/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

The handscraped finish might not be for everyone but I love the feel of the floor with bare feet. It looks great in my post and beam style home. I have a lot of wood in the home and this blended beautifully. :)
Lacking in designing skills, I scored big on this one!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product
By RobbieVerified Reviewer from Hampton,Va on 10/22/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Beautiful Color, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Casual Do-It-Yourselfer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Sales manager in the Norfolk store was outstanding all the way through from our selecting process to the completion of the sale.
Great experience, great product.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product! Poor install support
By .Verified Purchaser from Sisters, Oregon on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Dining Room, Family Room
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We used this flooring for our family room, dining room and den. An excellent choice if you have other types of wood through out the house as the varied colors blend perfectly. The finish is more of a satin than gloss so there is less glare. The texture gives it a great look. Install was fairly straight forward. Very few pieces were warped or unusable. It looks great.

We had one install question, left several messages and sent an e-mail to try to get help. None of our calls were returned and we finally recieved and e-mail with a link to the website that we had already viewed. This was after the floors had been installed. Maybe they were just really busy, but if you have install questions plan for a couple of weeks lead time.

 
Great looking country cottage
By HighsideDaveVerified Reviewer from Houston TX on 7/25/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Handyman
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Good quality product, all boards were usable. Cuts was accurate so it all fitted together nicely.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
We were very impressed with the quality.
By WittVerified Reviewer from Cleveland Ohio on 7/14/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Dining Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install. Beautiful finish.We installed this in our southern white pine log home with new hickory cabinets. THe flooring made the house look much larger and combined with the cabinets we really hit a home run.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This product is gorgeous!!!
By Barb and BillVerified Reviewer from Lake Geneva, Wisconsin on 7/12/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Anywhere, Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Kitchen, Living Room, Office
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This floor is beautiful! I couldn't be more pleased. We just finished my kitchen a week ago so I can't address durability or scratch resistance but I can tell you that this was a breeze to install. The boards were all straight and blemish free. The various lengths worked beautifully and the color variation worked to give me the end product I desired for my kitchen. The "hand-scraped" look is very attractive and it feels great on bare feet. I love the feel of this floor underfoot!! [...] I wouldn't buy flooring anywhere else!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Beautiful Wood
By rajVerified Reviewer from randolph, nj on 6/27/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install, Scratch Resistant
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Novice
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

This wood looks great after the install, and price is too good.

Everyone thinks I spent fortune on the room...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
EXCELLENT CHOICE
By The Benjamin'sVerified Reviewer from Lancaster, PA on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Hallway
Describe Yourself:
Novice
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We purchased this flooring to install in our daughters room, spare room and hallway on the 2nd level of our home. It looks absolutely gorgeous, I cannot comment on the wear of the product just yet, but we get a great deal of compliments on how beautiful it is. We did use a professional to install it just because of the price and the quantity that they had available, there wasn't room for mistakes.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
We chose the right wood!
By SKWVerified Reviewer from NH on 6/4/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Family Room, Hallway, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Novice
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

We put this product in 4 BR, upstairs hallway, LR and FR. We love it. The most impactful comments come from contractors who just let it blurt right out how amazing, unique and beautiful the finish is.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Would use this again
By D&DVerified Reviewer from Choctaw, AR on 5/27/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install, Scratch Resistant
Cons:
The floor will dent
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room, Office
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

There was a litle more tear out than I expected in the milling process. However with the hand scrapped texture it was not a major issue. It gave it more of a reclaimed floor look. Would not recommend for very formal decor.

Images shared by: D&D

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

 
Better than gold
By DoityourselfVerified Reviewer from wyoming on 4/29/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install, Scratch Resistant
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room, Office
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Installed flooring throughout upstairs, except for kitchen and bathroom. Best product I have worked with yet. The finish is a s tough as steel. LL calculator for required boxes off a little. With prior planning, you can reduce waste from project.

 
Hand scraped is GREAT
By ready fo a vacationVerified Reviewer from Greensboro, N.C. on 3/7/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install, Not sure how durable
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Easy to install. Looks spectacular in our newly remodeled kitchen and den but seems to dent easily. The looks overcome any issues I would have and will probably use it again in a vacation home.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Looks great in our log home.
By Wildcat ManVerified Reviewer from Taylorsville, KY on 2/21/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Dining Room, Family Room, Living Room
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Color goes extremely well with our log walls. Grain and colors pick up the knots and in the logs and the handscraped finish makes our home look more rustic.

 
very satisfied, high quality
By DudaVerified Reviewer from Collingswood NJ on 2/21/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Family Room
Describe Yourself:
Do-It-Yourself
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

very pleased, product is superior to handscraped flooring we installed in another room last year from another well known manufacturer

 
Great feel on bare feet
By MarkVerified Reviewer from San Rafael on 2/20/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Clean, Easy To Install
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Handyman
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Consistent quality. Very little waste.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great looks!
By CharlieVerified Reviewer from White House, TN on 2/8/2008
Pros:
Attractive Finish, Easy To Install
Cons:
Easily marred
Best Uses:
Dining Room, Kitchen, Office
Describe Yourself:
Novice
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

I thought the finish would be more durable than it really is. We are very pleased with the look and feel of this birch flooring and hope it will stand the test of time.

Customer Reviews about the 3/4" x4-3/4" Matterhorn Birch Handscraped Flooring at Lumber Liquidators
Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2009 Lumber Liquidators All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.